Hearst Journalism Awards Program

The Hearst Journalism Awards Program was founded in 1960 to provide support, encouragement and assistance to journalism education at the college and university level. The program awards scholarships to students for outstanding performance in college-level journalism, with matching grants to the students’ schools.

The 2020-21 program, offering up to $700,000 in awards, consists of five monthly writing competitions, two photojournalism competitions, one audio competition, two television competitions, and four multimedia competitions – with championship finals in all divisions. As students in an ACEJMC-accredited journalism program, SFSU journalism students are encouraged to apply.

The entry must have been published, aired and/or posted while the student was an undergraduate journalism major at SFSU. Double bylines and/or group entries are not allowed except in the Multimedia IV – Team competition.

Please check under each category for more information about entering:
Writing | Photojournalism | Audio | Television | Multimedia

Students must submit work for consideration by the deadline listed below to Amber Wehrer at amberw@sfsu.edu. Faculty will review all entries and choose the top two pieces for submission to the contest.

Writing
Competitions Deadline
Feature Writing Friday, October 16, 2020
Explanatory Writing Friday, November 13, 2020
Sports Writing Friday, January 15, 2021
Personality/Profile Writing Friday, February 19, 2021
Investigative Reporting Friday, March 26, 2021
Photojournalism
Competitions Deadline
Photo I - News and Features Friday, October 23, 2020
Photo II - Picture Story/Series Friday, January 22, 2021
Audio
Competitions Deadline
Audio - News and Features Friday, January 15, 2021
Television
Competitions Deadline
Television I - Features Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Television II - News Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Semi-Finals Comp. 1 (4 TV finalists only) Monday, March, 22, 2021
Semi-Finals Comp. 2 (4 TV finalists only) Monday, April 26, 2021
Multimedia
Competitions Deadline
Multimedia I - Narrative Video Storytelling Friday, November 6, 2020

Multimedia II - Innovative Storytelling and

Audience Engagement

Friday, January 15, 2021

Multimedia III - Digital News or Enterprise Story -

Individual

Friday, February 19, 2021

Multimedia IV - Digital news or Enterprise Story -

Team

Friday, April 2, 2021